November 1, 2022

Lewis, Worthy and Philpot nominated for the highest honours

Montreal, November 1 26, 2022 – The Canadian Football League announced its finalists for the year-end Most Outstanding Player Awards on Tuesday, and receiver Eugene Lewis returner Chandler Worthy, and receiver Tyson Philpot were respectively voted the East Division Most Oustanding Player, Most Outstanding Special Teams Player and Most Outstanding Rookie. East Division Most Outstanding Player: Eugene LewisThe 29-year-old receiver was the Alouettes most sought after target in 2022, catching 91 passes for 1,303 yards, which allowed him to finish in third place in the CFL. The former University of Oklahoma standout also caught ten touchdown passes. Lewis was consistent throughout the season, even if he caught passes from two different quarterbacks, as he registered five games with more than 100 receiving yards, on top of maintaining a 14.3 yards per catch.East Division Most Outstanding Special Teams Player: Chandler WorthyThe team’s main returner is responsible for 1,862 yards gained in 2022 with the Alouettes. He sits second in the CFL with 1,220 kickoff return yards, scoring two touchdowns in the process. Those yards also represent the second highest total in Alouettes’ history. The 29-year-old kept fans on the edge of their seats, as he returned four kickoffs for more than 40 yards and six punt returns for more than 30 yards. His 547 punt return yards represent the fifth highest total in the CFL.East Division Most Outstanding Rookie: Tyson PhilpotThe 22-year-old rookie was used at different positions in his first CFL season and created sparks wherever he was employed. On offence, the former University of Calgary Dino caught 39 passes for 459 yards, on top of scoring two majors. Philpot also cumulated 342 kickoff return yards, including two he returned for more than 40 yards. He added 153 yards on 11 punt returns.The winners will be unveiled at the 2022 CFL Awards Thursday, November 17 at Conexus Arts Centre in Regina.The award recipients were selected by voting members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC) and CFL head coaches.