September 25, 2018

Luc Brodeur-Jourdain has been nominated for the Jake Gaudaur Award

On the eve of the 105th Grey Cup Playoffs, the Canadian Football League (CFL) has unveiled the nine players nominated for the distinguished Jake Gaudaur Veterans’ Award. The honour has been awarded every year since 2010 to a Canadian CFL player who best demonstrates the attributes of Canada’s veterans: strength, perseverance, courage, comradeship and contribution to Canadian communities. The award recognizes Jake Gaudaur for embodying these attributes both as the CFL’s longest-standing Commissioner and as a distinguished veteran of the Second World War.

The nominees are chosen by their respective clubs; the recipient is chosen by a committee and honoured during the Shaw CFL Awards at Grey Cup Weekend.


The last player selected in the 2008 Draft, Luc helped the Alouettes to back-to-back Grey Cup wins in addition to completing school and eventually obtaining his master’s degree. He made 97 consecutive starts at centre before tearing his ACL and MCL, injuries he played through as he helped the Alouettes fight for their 2015 playoff hopes. Brodeur-Jourdain vowed to come back stronger and did, returning to resume his role and foster team camaraderie, welcoming new players. He is a pillar of the AlouettesTogether at School program, encouraging kids to pursue their education, and is also involved with the Mira Foundation, which pairs disabled and visually-impaired people with trained docs. He participated in Defi-Vision, guiding a visually-impaired race car driver on a track, and regularly assists local charities and minor football teams.

The eight other nominated players are: Mike Benson for the BC Lions, Matt O’Donnell for the Edmonton Eskimos , Rob Cote for the Calgary Stampeders, Dan Clark for the Saskatchewan Roughriders, Jamaal Westerman for the Winnipeg Blue Bombers, Courtney Stephen for the Hamilton Tiger-Cats, Jamal Campbell for the Toronto Argonauts and Alex Mateas for the Ottawa REDBLACKS.

Previous winners include Matt Black (TOR), Jeff Perrett (MTL, 2015), James Yurichuk (TOR, 2014), Shea Emry (MTL, 2013), Graeme Bell (SSK, 2012), Andre Durie (TOR, 2011) and Mike McCullogh (SSK, 2010).

This year’s Jake Gaudaur Veterans’ Award will be honoured during the Shaw CFL Awards on Thursday November 23rd during Grey Cup week in Ottawa.